My New Role | Arts Library Coordinator

romare-bearden

I decided to use this lithograph, by Romare Bearden: The Lamp, (c). 1984 | Lithograph commissioned commemorating the 30th anniversary of the U.S. Supreme Court’s decision ending official segregation in public education.

 

There are many librarians in the world that are not working where they truly desire. Or they are not tapping into their highest potential. I have always wanted to be an Art Librarian since knowing that the field of librarianship was a part of my destiny. I want to reach my highest potential. I had a lot time to think about  the direction of my career over the summer, where I currently work right now. Since being at Inman E. Page Library, I have always gravitated to the arts and feel that it can have a major impact in students lives in an academic setting, being that this is an African American library. I decided to write down what I wanted to actually do in the library and shared it with my director.

To be clear, I know that most people are not afforded the opportunities that have been bestowed upon my life. I also understand that many will not go beyond what is required of them; I am different. Again, I want to reach my highest potential. Art has always been a part of my life and I always have wanted to share it with the world as a writer and artist and now as a librarian. So, I took a leap and wrote a new role description that completely described who I am as a librarian. I know it may sound far-fetched being that I already have the title Academic Librarian/Assistant Professor. I mean that says enough, right? Well not for me. I felt that it was time to relinquish my role as the Information Literacy Coordinator (my specialization within the library as a faculty member) and transition into the Arts Library Coordinator for the university library.

I have always been the type of person that has to be doing something that is worthy of discussion with someone else.

I met with my director, discussed my concerns, and allowed her to read the new role. She stated that she would need a couple of weeks to think about it. We set another date to discuss the transition. I met with her again; I received the answer of yes to my request! I feel like the artistic gods were like it is time for you to walk further in your destiny. I was elated after our meeting! I immediately began working on a major project. I will share it with you in the coming weeks. Needless to say, I am glad that I sat down and decided to honor who I am in the library  and continue to be of service in a way that I know will make a major impact, before my time is up at this institution.

I have been able to transition into my new role with ease. When you are doing what you love, even in a beautiful chaos, it makes all the difference as it pertains to your own livelihood. I am excited to be able to share African American art and history with students, faculty, and the general public in a library setting. There are more ways than one to maximize your greatness regardless of what is going on around you. The important thing is that you can leave your job on a daily basis and know that you are making a difference in someone else’s life. I plan on excelling, learning, sharing, and creating a platform that will be set in place for the next librarian that will step into this role.

Leave a Reply

