Reflection: I Landed My First Job at an HBCU Library

Inman E. Page Library | Image Courtesy of Bill Grant

Inman E. Page Library | Image Courtesy of Bill Grant

There comes a time when you have to listen to the universe (GOD). You have to open your heart to understanding, and be okay with what is happening in your life. I applied for thirty jobs, two months before I received my Master’s Degree in Library Science and Information Technology, from the University of North Texas. I for one never thought that I would land my first job as a librarian at an HBCU (Historical Black College University) Library. Well, it happened and is the best thing that could have ever happened to me at this stage in my life. I am an Academic Art Librarian/Assistant Professor and the Information Literacy Coordinator at Lincoln University’s, Inman E. Page Library.

I’ve been here for a month and some days; it has been a blast, challenging, thought-provoking, and a blessing in disguise. (Please be advised that I wanted to make sure that I documented the beginning of the journey so I did back track.) There have been many things that have opened my mind with regard to understanding what students need inside a library of this caliber and how to meet them in the middle. I just so happen to work inside an “Information Mall” – the term was coined by, Mrs. Lizzy Wilson (former Library Directory). The library is three stories and is an amazing place to work in! There’s a lot of history that goes along with the name of this library too. Inman E. Page, the educator, civil rights leader, humanitarian and administrator — his legacy is about helping African American students receive an education and succeed!

My goal is to change the culture and the presence of the library on campus. I believe that the library needs to be promoted and looked upon as an institution within an institution. I feel like that the students will be my best asset as it pertains to telling their peers, administration, and faculty about what’s happening inside the library. I remember giving a speech to the faculty senate the first month that I was here on campus, and I had many faculty members to tell me that they loved what I had to say but I have not seen them in the library. So my question is, how can you profess to want your students to learn and understand how to research and we never see you in the library… I will let you and them ponder on that question. I have too much to get accomplished in a short amount of time.

I have more thoughts to share throughout this journey – it is just the beginning, but it is well worth it (I feel it!)!  I know that I am a change agent and visionary. I am ecstatic to be able to start a new blog to document all of these moments that I can never get back. I am a writer first and it would not be right — if I did not document this moment/journey in my life!

Leave a Reply

